Pandey, Chaudhary appointed Chief Ministers of Gandaki, Lumbini Provinces

KATHMANDU: Surendra Raj Pandey and Dilli Bahadur Chaudhary of the Nepali Congress (NC) have been appointed as the Chief Ministers of the Gandaki and Lumbini Provinces respectively.

Gandaki Province Chief Prithvi Man Gurung appointed Pandey to the post of Chief Minister this afternoon in accordance with the Article 168 of the constitution.

Pandey was supported by 35 lawmakers from the Nepali Congress (NC), CPN (Maoist Centre) and CPN (Unified Socialist).

Similarly, Lumbini Province Chief Amik Sherchan appointed Chaudhary as the Chief Minister this afternoon.

Chaudhary was backed by 53 lawmakers from CPN (Maoist Centre), Janata Samajbadi Party, Loktantrik Samajbadi, Nagarik Unmukti Party, Janamat Party Nepal, Rastriya Janamorcha and CPN (Unified Socialist).

The newly appointed Chief Ministers will have to seek a vote of confidence within 30 days.

ALSO READ : Chaudhary, Pandey stake claim for CM post in Lumbini, Gandaki Provinces


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen − nineteen =

Also like this