Ram Sahaya Yadav elected as Vice-President

KATHMANDU: Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) Parliamentary Party leader and former minister Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav has been elected as the Vice-President of Nepal.

In the voting held today, Yadav was elected as the Vice-President by defeating Astha Laxmi Shakya of the CPN-UML and Mamata Jha of the Janamat Party. The three were in the race for the vice-presidential election.

Yadav had received support from the Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), CPN (Unified Socialist) among other ruling coalition parties in the election held for the third Vice-President today.

The voting that started at 10 am concluded at 3 pm.

A total of 311 federal lawmakers and 518 Province Assembly members took part in the voting.

The number of voters was 332 from the federal Parliament and 550 from the Province Assembly.

The voting weightage of a federal Parliament member is 79 followed by 48 of a PA member.

The polling centre for the election was set up at the New Baneshwor-based federal Parliament Building.

The term of the Vice-President is five years from the date he or she is elected.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 + thirteen =

Also like this