Political parties committed to fully abide by election code of conduct

KATHMANDU: Political parties taking part in the local level elections scheduled for May 13 have expressed commitment to fully abide by necessary rules and laws in order to hold elections in a free, fear-free, trustworthy environment. 

Inviting the political parties to the Election Commission today, the EC asked them to make a commitment to fully follow the election code of conduct and laws. 

The commitment letter reads, “We are ready to follow different provisions of the Constitution of Nepal, Election Commission Act-2073, Political Parties-related Act-2073, Election (Crime and Punishment) Act-2073, Local-Level Election Act-2073 and Election Code of Conduct-2078 with honesty.”

Expressing commitment to be present if EC, election monitoring committee, election officer and polling officers call them in the context of election, leaders and representatives of the political parties signed the commitment letter.  

Chief Election Commissioner Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya said that political parties were invited with the objective of making a commitment to fully abide by the election code of conduct before implementing the election code of conduct. 

Nepali Congress vice-president Purna Bahadur Khadka, CPN (Maoist Centre) central committee member Leelamani Pokharel, executive committee member of Janata Samajbadi Party, Dr Beduram Bhusal of the CPN (Unified Socialist) and Election Department member of the CPN (UML), Baburam Dahal, among other party leaders and representatives signed the commitment letter.

The main opposition CPN-UML, however, walked out of EC without signing the election code of conduct. RSS



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × 4 =

Also like this