CCMC urges govt to halt flights from countries with new Covid variant

KATHMANDU: The Covid-19 Crisis Management Centre (CCMC) on Monday urged the government to halt flights from countries with new Covid variant known as Omicron.

A meeting of the CCMC held on Sunday had decided to recommend the government to halt the flights to the countries where the new Covid variant has been detected, CCMC Coordinator Maheshwor Neupane said.

Similarly, the meeting had also decided to urge the government to tighten borders with India and expand testing.

The CCMC has recommended the government to ban entry of people travelling from eight southern African countries and not to issue visas on arrival to the people.

A Cabinet meeting to be held on Monday will discuss the issue, Neupane said.

The WHO said that the new variant of Covid-19 has been detected in South Africa, Botswana, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Belgium, Israel, Denmark, Austria, Czech Republic, Australia and Canada as of this morning.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seventeen − 11 =

Also like this