Lumbini Province CM Mahara expands Cabinet amid dissatisfaction of fringe parties

RUPANDEHI: Lumbini Province Chief Minister Jokh Bahadur Mahara expanded his Cabinet by implementing the agreement reached with the CPN-UML amid dissatisfaction of three parties participating in the government.

Though the CPN (Maoist Center) did not implement the agreement made with Janata Samajbadi Party and CPN (Unified Socialist) in the past, the party moved ahead as per the previous agreement signed with the UML.

Chief Minister Mahara expanded the Cabinet following an agreement on Wednesday.

According to the agreement, UML will get five ministries, Maoist Center two more ministries including the chief minister, Nagarik Unmukti, Janata Samajbadi Party and independent lawmakers will get one ministry each.

UML’s Chet Narayan Acharyas has been appointed as the Minister for Economic Affairs and Planning, Maoist Centre’s Dipendra Pun as the Minister for Health and Bhandari Lal Ahar as the Minister for Agriculture.

Parliamentary Party deputy leader Acharya joined the government representing the party.

Meanwhile, Dinesh Panthi, Khadak Basnet, Dharma Bahadur Chaudhary, Arjun Kumar KC, Bhumishwor Dhakal and Ratna Bahadur Khatri will take the oath of office and secrecy as ministers without portfolio.

The Province Chief Office said that preparations are underway to administer the oath of office and secrecy to them at 5 pm today.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − eight =

Also like this