Narayan Dahal elected as National Assembly chair (With video)

KATHMANDU: CPN (Maoist Centre) candidate Narayan Dahal has been elected as the chairman of the National Assembly.

In the election held today, Dahal defeated Yuvaraj Sharma to become the chairman of the upper house.

He was supported by CPN-UML, CPN (Unified Socialist) and Janata Samajbadi Party.

Dahal was nominated as a member of the National Assembly by the President.

He received 39 votes—Maoist Centre (18), UML (10), CPN (US) (8) and JSP (3).

Congress candidate obtained 17 votes—NC (16) and Loktantrik Samajbadi Party (1).

A total of 56 votes were cast in the election.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + 12 =

Also like this