National Assembly elections: Offices of election officers to be set up from January 1

KATHMANDU: The offices of the election officers for the elections to the National Assembly will be established from January 1.

The Election Commission on December 28 had appointed district judges of seven districts as the election officers in accordance with National Assembly Election Act, 2055, to be effective from January 1.

Following the appointment, election officers should establish the offices in the respective provinces, said EC Spokesperson, Shaligram Sharma Paudel.

District Court Morang judge Durga Prasad Dhungel has been appointed as the election officer in Koshi province, District Court  Dhanusha judge Narayan Prasad Subedi in Madhes province, District Court Makawanpur judge Mahendra Bahadur Karki in Bagmati province, District Court Kaski judge Keshav Prasad Bastola in Gandaki province, District Court Dang judge Kripasur Karki in Lumbini province, District Court Surkhet judge Bishnu Prasad Aryal in Karnali province and District Court Kailali judge Om Prasad Aryal in Sudurpaschim province.

The election watchdog fixed January 8 as the day for the filing of nomination papers by candidates for National Assembly elections scheduled for January 25.

The tenure of 20 upper house members, including 19 elected ones and one member nominated by the President, is ending on March 3.

The legal provision requires that the election should be held one month before the conclusion of the tenure.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

16 + one =

Also like this