Parliamentary committees to get leadership today

KATHMANDU: Ten thematic committees under the House of Representative (HoR) are getting their leadership today, after nine months of the parliamentary elections in the country.

The thematic committees include finance, international relations and tourism, industry and commerce and labor and consumer interests, law, justice and human rights, agriculture, cooperative and natural resources committee.

Likewise, other committees under the HoR are women and social affairs, state affairs and good governance, infrastructure development, education, health and information technology and public accounts committee.

A meeting to take place at 3 pm today will pick presidents of the committees. Nominations were registered for the elections of presidents in 10 thematic committees on Sunday.

According to the Federal Parliament Secretariat, candidates of various political parties including the Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center), Rastriya Swatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Janata Samajbadi Party, CPN (Unified Socialist), and Janamat Party have filed their nominations for the leadership of the HoR thematic committees.

A total of 11 candidates have registered their nominations for the presidents of 10 parliamentary committees.

Spokesperson of the Federal Parliament Secretariat Yekram Giri said that the committee presidents will be sworn in on Monday itself.

Likewise, Deepak Bahadur Singh of Rastriya Prajatantra Party has registered his candidacy for the Infrastructure Development Committee and Bhanubhakta Joshi of the CPN (Unified Socialist) for the presidency of the Education, Health and Information Technology Committee. Rhishikesh Pokhrel of the UML has filed his candidacy for the Public Account Committee.

Santosh Chalise of the Nepali Congress has filed his nomination for the Finance Committee while Raj Kishore Yadav of the Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal has filed his candidacy for the president of International Relations and Tourism Committee.

Similarly, Abdul Khan of Janamat and RSP’s Ganesh Parajuli have filed their candidacies for the Industry and Commerce, and Labour and Consumer Interest Committee respectively.

Bimala Subedi of Maoist Centre has filed her nomination for Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee while Arju Rana Deuba filed her nomination for Agriculture, Cooperatives and Natural Resources Committee and Kiran Kumar Shah for Women and Social Welfare Affairs Committee, and Ramhari Khatiwada has registered his candidacy for the State Affairs and Good Governance Committee.

Janamat Party’s Khan and RSP’s Parajuli are contesting for the presidency of the Industry and Commerce and Consumer Interests. RSS



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × four =

Also like this