House panels’ leadership election to be held on August 28

KATHMANDU: The leadership of parliamentary committees will be chosen through election.

Though Speaker Devraj Ghimire had repeatedly urged parties to pick the leadership on consensus, the date for the election was decided after the parties turned a blind eye to his request.

Speaker Ghimire said that the election will be held at 1 pm on August 28.

Earlier, it was agreed between the ruling party and the main opposition parties that Nepali Congress will lead four, CPN-UML three, CPN (Maoist Center) two, CPN (Unified Socialist) one, Janata Samajbadi Party one and Janamat Party one committees.

The committees were formed at the end of April.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × 5 =

Also like this