Vice-Presidential election today

KATHMANDU: Voting for the election to the post of Vice-President is taking place today.

Astalaxmi Shakya (Bohara) of the CPN-UML, Mamata Jha of the Janamat Party and Ramsahaya Prasad Yadav of the Janata Samajbadi Party are in the race.

All the preparations for voting taking place at Lhotse Hall of the federal Parliament Building, New Baneshwor from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm have been completed, according to Assistant Election Officer, Amrita Kumari Sharma.

Separate voting centers have been determined for the members of federal Parliament and Province Assembly.

Two types of ballot papers have been printed for the Vice-Presidential election-2079. The ballot for the federal Parliament members is of red colour while it is of green colour for the Province Assembly members.

The Names and photos of candidates have been printed in the ballot papers. The weightage of a vote cast by a member of federal Parliament will be equivalent to 79 whereas the weightage of a vote cast by a PA member will be equivalent to 48.

There are 332 voters of the federal Parliament and 550 voters of the PA in the election.

Arrangements have been made to count votes shortly after voting, said Sharma. The Vice-President shall be assigned to look after affairs in the absence of the President. The tenure of the Vice-President is five years.

This is the third Vice-Presidential election since the country adopted the federal democratic republic system in 2008. RSS



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × one =

Also like this