Nepal qualify for ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers

KATHMANDU: Nepal have qualified for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifiers 2023 after defeating the United Arab Emirates (UAE) by nine runs via the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method in the last match played under the triangular series of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup League-2 on Thursday.

The match was played at the TU International Cricket Ground in Kirtipur today.

The 2023 World Cup Qualifier match will be held in Zimbabwe.

Nepal won the match after the decision was made based on the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method. The DLS method was used after rain disrupted the match.

Nepal had made 269 runs losing 6 wickets in 44 overs while chasing the target of 311 runs set by UAE.

The umpires decided to stop the game due to bad weather. Based on the DLS method, Nepal was ahead by 9 runs.

As many as four batsmen Bhim Sharki, Aarif Sheikh, Gulshan Jha, Kushal Bhurtel scored half-century in the second inning of the match for Nepal.

Bhim Sharki scored the highest 67 runs off 76 balls with four boundaries, Aarif Sheikh scored 52 runs off 62 balls with two fours, Gulshan Jha made 50 runs off 48 balls with two sixes and four fours and Kushal Bhurtel contributed 50 runs off 35 balls hitting four sixes and three fours.

For UAE, Aasif Khan made century with 101 runs off 42 balls hitting 11 sixes and four fours. Vriitya Aravind and Muhammad Waseem contributed 94 runs and 63 runs respectively. 

On the bowling side, Dipendra Singh Airee took two wickets for Nepal. Spinner Sandeep Lamichhane, Sompal Kami and Lalit Rajbanshi took one wicket each.

Likewise, Aryan Lakra took the highest three wickets for UAE.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen − 3 =

Also like this