Devraj Ghimire elected Parliament Speaker

KATHMANDU: Devraj Ghimire of the CPN-UML has been elected as the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

In the election held in Parliament today, he defeated Ishwori Neupane of the Nepali Congress to be elected as the Speaker.

Ghimire garnered 167 votes while Neupane received 100 votes.

Senior member of the Parliament Pashupati Shumsher JB Rana, who presided over the meeting, announced that Ghimire has been elected as the Speaker with a majority.

Out of 268 lawmakers present in the voting process this afternoon, one remained neutral.

UML’s Subash Nembang proposed Ghimire’s nomination while Rastriya Prajatantra Party Chairman Rajendra Lingden, Rastriya Swatantra Party Chairman Rabi Lamichhane and CPN (Maoist Center)’s Chief Whip Hitraj Pandey seconded the proposal.

Ghimire was elected as a member of the House of Representatives from Jhapa-2.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 + fifteen =

Also like this