Dhankuta CPN (Maoist Centre) leaders resign en masse

BIRATNAGAR: CPN (Maoist Centre) leaders of Dhankuta have resigned en masse expressing dissatisfaction over the seat allocation of the ruling coalition.

All the leaders of the district have resigned en masse making a decision to field politburo member Hemraj Bhandari as an independent candidate. It has been learnt that the Maoist will not get a seat of the House of Representatives in Dhankuta.

Issuing a statement on Sunday, District Coordinator DillI Ram Rai said that the meeting of the District Coordination Committee held on Saturday made the decision to this effect.

The meeting has made the decision that they would take part in the elections by helping the Hemraj Bhandari-led Swatantra Abhiyan.

Bhandari was elected Constituent Assembly member from Dhankuta in 2007.

It has almost been certain that the Nepali Congress will get the seat from the alliance in Dhankuta.

Earlier, Sunil Thapa, who lost to UML’s Rajendra Rai in the election from the Rastriya Prajatantra Party, is currently a senior leader of Nepali Congress.

The Janata Samajbadi Party (JPP) has also staked claim in Dhankuta.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 − four =

Also like this