Final results of local election in 12 local units awaited

KATHMANDU:  It has been 11 days since the local-level election held in the country, the final result of 12 local units is yet to be received.

According to the Election Commission, the result of 460 rural municipalities and 279 municipalities has been announced so far.

Counting of votes of six metropolitan cities, out of six, has already been completed. Final result of Biratnagar, Bharatpur and Birgunj metropolitan cities has already been announced.

Nagesh Koirala has been elected mayor in Biratnagar metropolitan city, Renu Dahal in Bharatpur metropolis and Rajeshman Singh in Birgunj metropolitan city. Vote counting of Kathmandu, Pokhara and Lalitpur metropolitan cities is underway.

Similarly, counting of votes in Tulasipur sub-metropolis in Dang district, Katari and Triyuga municipalities in Udayapur district, Gadhimai, Garuda and Phatuwa Bijaypur municipalities in Rautahat district, Tilottama municipality in Rupandehi district, Maharajgunj municipality in Kapilvastu district and Budhiganga rural municipality in Bajura district as well as some other municipalities is still taking place, added the EC.

The Nepali Congress has won the election as chairperson of 188 rural municipalities and mayor of 134 municipalities so far.

Similarly, the CPN (UML) has been elected chairperson in 123 rural municipalities and mayor in 79 municipalities while candidates of the CPN (Maoist Centre) have been elected as mayor in 25 municipalities and chairperson in 96 rural municipalities so far.

The NC has won the election in 2,632 wards, UML in 2,112 wards, the CPN (Maoist Center) in 1,049 wards. RSS


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

thirteen − seven =

Also like this