Voter turnout 35% until noon: Election Commission

KATHMANDU: The voter turnout under the local level elections was 35 percent throughout the country as of noon today, the Election Commission said.

Voting began in the local level elections at all 753 units across the country simultaneously at 7:00 am today.

Voters are exercising their franchise at 21, 955 polling centers fixed at 10,756 polling stations across the country and it will continue till 5:00 pm today.

The voting is taking place peacefully and in an enthusiastic manner across the country barring some sporadic incidents. Voting has been obstructed at some polling stations in Dolakha, Sarlahi, Saptari, Ramechhap, Parbat, Humla and Bajura due to minor dispute, EC spokesperson Shaligram Sharma Poudel said.

He said that voting will be started soon at the polling stations where it could not take place.

Some 17.73 million voters will be electing a total of 35,221 representatives who include mayors/ chiefs and deputy mayors/ deputy chiefs, ward chairs, Dalit women members, women members and open ward members through the today’s election taking place second time since the country switched to a federal set-up.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five + five =

Also like this