UML forms taskforce to draft manifesto for local level elections

KATHMANDU: The main opposition CPN-UML has formed a taskforce with experts to draft party’s central manifesto for the forthcoming local level elections.

A Central Committee meeting of the party which concluded on Thursday formed a seven-member task under the leadership of party’s senior Vice-Chairman Ishwor Pokharel.

Vice-Chairman Yuvaraj Gyawali, Deputy General Secretary Pradeep Gyawali, Bishnu Rimal, leaders Devendra Dahal, Manoj Jung Thapa, former Finance Minister Yuvaraj Khatiwada, Rapti Municipality Mayor Prabha Baral, Dinesh Chandra Devkota and former Executive Officer of the National Reconstruction Authority Sushil Gyawali are the members of the task force.

Deputy head of the Central Publicity Department of the party Bishnu Rijal said that the task force will submit the draft of the manifesto by mid-April.

The meeting has decided to make public the manifesto on April 22, establishment day of the party, and has also decided to make public the commitment paper in all the 753 rural municipalities on the same day.

Meanwhile, Rijal said that Chairman Oli will hold a virtual meeting with the representatives of the committees of all the 753 rural municipalities from the central office on March 30 for the preparations of the manifesto.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eleven − eight =

Also like this