National Assembly elections: Ruling coalition wins 18 out of 19 seats

KATHMANDU: The five-party alliance secured a resounding victory in the National Assembly elections held on Wednesday. The CPN-UML, however, stopped the alliance from winning all the seats.

According to the final results, leaders associated with the coalition won 18 out of 19 seats.

UML’s Sonam Gyalgen Sherpa emerged victorious in Province 1.

Before the elections held today, the UML was the largest party with 23 seats. Despite losing seven seats in the elects, the party managed to remain as the largest party due to one victory.

The UML has 16 seats including the National Assembly chairman.

CPN (Maoist Centre) and Nepali Congress have become the second and third largest parties with 15 seats and 10 seats respectively.

Similarly, the CPN (Unified Socialist) party, which was formed after the split of UML, has become the fourth largest party with eight seats.

Likewise, Janata Samajbadi Party has two seats in the National Assembly.

Meanwhile, Rastriya Janamorcha Party, which has presence only in the House of Representatives, has also made a entry in the National Assembly.

Tul Bahadur Bishwokarma has been elected as a National Assembly member under Dalit category from Lumbini Province.

Democratic Socialist Party has also one seat in the National Assembly.

List of winners

UML- Sonam Gyalgen Sherpa

Nepali Congress– Krishna Prasad Paudel (Bagmati), Durga Gurung (Karnali), Kamala Panta (Gandaki), Yuvaraj Sharma (Lumbini), Gopal Basnet ( Province 1) and Narayan Dutta Mishra (Sudurpaschim Province)

CPN (Maoist Centre)– Jagat Parki (Sudurpaschim Province), Suresh Ale Magar (Gandaki), Nara Bahadur Bista (Karnali), Bhuwan Bahadur Sunuwar (Gandaki) and Urmila Aryal (Madhesh)

CPN (Unified Socialist)– Jayanti Rai (Province 1), Garima Shah (Sudurpaschim), Rajendra Laxmi Gaire (Lumbini), Udaya Bahadur Bohara (Karnali), Goma Timilsina (Bagmati)

Janata Samajbadi– Mohammad Khalid (Madhesh)

Rastriya Janamorcha– Tul Bahadur Bishwokama (Lumbini)

Number of seats (before)


Maoist Centre-14

NC– 7

Unified Socialist– 7

Janata Samajbadi-1

Democratic Socialist Party-1



Maoist Centre-15


Unified Socialist-8

Janata Samajbadi-2

Rastriya Janamorcha-1




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × 1 =

Also like this