Nepal makes seven-day hotel quarantine mandatory for travellers arriving from 67 countries

KATHMANDU: The government of Nepal has made a seven-day hotel quarantine mandatory for the people arriving from 67 different countries.

Issuing a notice on Saturday, the Department of Immigration of Tribhuvan International Airport said that the foreigners arriving in Nepal would have to stay in hotel quarantine.

The government has decided to make quarantine mandatory for everyone in view of the risk of the Omicron coronavirus variant which is spreading in the world at an alarming rate.

The travellers themselves have to bear the hotel and quarantine expenses, the department said.

The department has urged them to stay into home isolation for seven days in case their test report comes out positive.

Mukesh Kumar KC, Director at the department, said that the government has decided to tighten the rules for the people entering the country after cases of Omicron coronavirus variant started spreading in many Asian countries including India.

The US, the UK, Canada, Spain, Italy, Denmark, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, France, Germany, Greece, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, Switzerland, Turkey, South Korea, Thailand, Malaysia and Maldives among other countries are in the list of the Department of Immigration.

The government had decided not to allow people from nine African countries to enter the country to curb the spread of the new Omicron coronavirus variant.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five × four =

Also like this