NC general convention: 548 leaders file candidacies for 134 posts

KATHMANDU: As many as 548 leaders have filed their candidacies for 134 posts at the 14th general convention of the Nepali Congress on Saturday.

According to the Central Election Committee of the Nepali Congress, six leaders have filed their candidacies for the post of president, seven for two vice-president and six for two general secretaries.

Sher Bahadur Deuba, Bimalendra Nidhi, Shekhar Koirala, Prakash Man Singh, Kalyan Gurung and Yuvaraj Neupane have filed their nominations for the post of president.

Purna Bahadur Khadka, Bijay Kumar Gachadhhar, Chandra Bhandari, Dhan Raj Gurung, Sujata Koirala, Mahesh Acharya and Dibyashwori Shah are vying for the post of  vice-president.

Gagan Thapa, Minendra Rijal, Prakash Sharan Mahat, Pradeep Paudel, Bishwo Prakash Sharma and Rajaram Karki have filed their candidacies for general secretary.

The Election Committee said that 20 persons have filed their nominations for joint general secretary. According to party statute, eight persons will be elected as the joint general secretary.

Similarly, 109 persons have filed their nominations for central members under the open category, 31 for women central members,  64 for 21 central members from the provinces and 283 for the 54 central members under the inclusive groups.

Likewise, six persons have filed candidacies under the minority group and 16 under the disability category.

The Election Committee has set the deadline of 11 am Sunday to withdraw nominations.

The final list of the candidates will be published at 12:15 pm on Sunday.

The voting will begin at 8am on Monday, the Election Committee said.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × three =

Also like this