14 SC justices boycott full court meeting summoned by Chief Justice Rana

KATHMANDU: Fourteen justices of the Supreme Court have boycotted the full court meeting summoned by Chief Justice Cholendra Shamsher Rana, who has been embroiled in a series of controversies, at 1 pm on Monday.

The Supreme Court’s spokesperson Baburam Dahal said that the full court could not take place as the justices boycotted the meeting.

The justices are holding a separate meeting.

It has been learnt that the meeting will take decision on how to move ahead in the coming days.

Similarly, the Nepal Bar Association and Supreme Court Bar Association are also holding a meeting to discuss the working capacity and qualifications of the Chief Justice.

People from various walks of life have been expressing their dissatisfaction against Chief Justice Rana after he decided to reduce the punishment of murder convict Ranjan Koirala and for lobbying to appoint his brother-in-law as a minister in the Sher Bahadur Deuba-led government.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − 5 =

Also like this