CM Raut wins vote of confidence, ruling coalition garners two-third majority

KATHMANDU: Province 2 Chief Minister Lal Babu Raut has won the vote of confidence on Wednesday.

He sought the vote of confidence as per the constitutional provision after the split of Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal (JSP-N).

Raut’s government has been secured with the support of other political parties except CPN-UML and Democratic Socialist Party.

He received 77 votes in the 104-member province assembly. As many as 23 voted against and four lawmakers remained absent.

Out of 108-member province assembly, currently the province has 104 members as four Maoist lawmakers were taken action for joining the CPN-UML.

Raut garnered a two-third majority after four lawmakers remained absent today.

Janata Samajbadi Party- Nepal, Nepali Congress and CPN (Unified Socialist) have thrown their weight behind Raut.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 − one =

Also like this