EC verifies 60 central members, 33 lawmakers as members of CPN (Unified Socialist)

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission on Wednesday verified the signatures of 60 central committee members and 33 lawmakers of the CPN-UML, who had signed the petition to split the party and formed a new party CPN (Unified Socialist) Party.

The names along with the signatures of 56 leaders were sent to the Election Commission for the registration of a new party. The names of 55 leaders except Bhaskar Kafle have been verified.

Party leader Metmani Chaudhary said that the party is holding a discussion over Bikram Shahi, Som Prasad Pandey, Ram Preet Paswan and Rajan Rai who have not signed the petition.

Prime Minister Jhalanath, who is undergoing treatment at a hospital in New Delhi, India virtually verified his signature.  The electoral watchdog verified by his signature on the basis of a letter sent by the Nepali Embassy in New Delhi.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 + 7 =

Also like this