Writ petitions against HoR dissolution

Continuous hearing on writ petitions filed by Deuba to be held in constitutional bench from today

KATHMANDU: The 30 writ petitions on the dissolution of the House of Representatives is being heard in the Constitutional Court from today. 

Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba is the chief petitioner and the writ petition filed by 146 members of the dissolved House of Representatives is being heard continuously starting today. 30 writ petitions have been filed against Deuba not being appointed as the Prime Minister even after signatures of the majority members were submitted to the President’s Office. 

Earlier on 6th June, a constitutional bench comprising of Chief Justice Cholendra Shamsher Jabara, Deepak Kumar Karki, Meera Khadka, Ishwar Khatiwada and Ananda Mohan Bhattarai had refused to issue an interim order and had given time to the government side, which has been made the opposition, to provide a written response. 

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, President Bidhya Devi Bhandari and Speaker of the House of Representatives Agni Prasad Sapkota have already submitted their answers.

In the constitutional bench, the writ petitioner’s lawyer will be allowed to debate for 12 hours at the beginning and 3 hours for the counter-debate. Similarly, the opposition has also been given 15 hours. 

Experts of law say that it will not take long for the decision of the constitutional bench to come. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fourteen + 4 =

Also like this